Introducing myself to 2015

Well, this was a long time coming. I have been thinking about doing a blog for a quite some time now, but it’s only taken until now to commence. I don’t know what held me back before, maybe my immature mind, or perhaps I felt my own view on life wasn’t interesting or valid. 

But here right now, I start. How does the saying go.. “Better now than never”.. I guess that couldn’t be more appropriate now. 

My name is Steven, but in the Internet community i go under Tipene, which is actually “Steven” in the Maori language. I don’t know if I call myself Tipene online because I’m attempting (not very well) to hide my identity.. Or perhaps I just like the sound of Tipene.

I’m currently unemployed, but remaining very active to find a job. I enjoy video games, very much so actually, though never wanted to progress with it as a career, maybe it could have been a good idea. Could you say I play games too much? Not anymore, ask me a couple of years ago and it would have been a different answer.

I’ve always enjoyed writing. Writing and reading actually. I’ve always dreamed of becoming an author. Since I was a little kid I’ve always been filling pages with stories. Strange stories, scary stories, happy stories, My stories. And always reading. The bigger the book the better! 

I’m an avid fan of Metal music. The heavier, louder, crazier, the better. I haven’t always been a fan, there was actually a time where I loathed it. But its all I’m finding myself listening to nowadays.

Anyway, that’s enough about me, for now anyway… Obviously. 

As we waltz into 2015 I choose now to reflect on 2014. A strange, horrible, magnificent, beautiful, disastrous year. Oh where oh where do I begin..

In 2014, my battle of depression roared on as usual, I had my first surgery procedure which resulted in the removal of my appendix (didn’t need that bastard anyway), birth of my first child (gorgeous baby girl), the loss of a stale job, the lack of being able to get another job and all the usual filler in between. 

As I mentioned, in June I welcomed my daughter into this world. It was the most amazing moment of my life, I swear I hadn’t cried like that since my own birth. And now, watching her physically as mentally grow, watching her personality become more and more special as each day goes is truly amazing! I wouldn’t change it for the world! 

But that would present itself as one of the only (but very big) good thing of 2014. Not to say it was the worst year, but not the best. I don’t like to whinge and whine and I won’t be starting today. But I’d say the biggest downer was losing my job. A lot of people lose their jobs time to time and I am no different. I will not play the woe is me card… Anymore (guilty, played the card a little when I first lost the job). 

I try to think of it as a good thing though. I never did like the job. It was simply a means to an end. I was never happy with it, as I could feel myself as a whole, degrading under the conditions of the job. Since being unemployed, I feel rejuvenated, happier and I feel ready. Ready for what? Anything. 

I don’t know what 2015 will continue to bring me, but that is the best part about living I guess.. The surprises! 

All I know is that I’ll be making an effort this year in a lot of things! I’ve always wanted to stream video games so now I will be (twitch.tv/tipene_77), I’ll be reading more books, paying extra attention to my writing, fully supporting my daughter and partner and most of all, giving me reasons to live! 

2 thoughts on “Introducing myself to 2015

Add yours

  1. Congratulations on the birth of your daughter, there is no greater love than being a parent 🙂
    They say that sometimes the “devastating” events that happen in our lives are a blessing in disguise. It can be just the push or realization we need to live the life we were meant to live… the best to you in this new year!
    Blessings, Danielle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Meliorate

Learning to write, Writing to learn!

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

